Teresa Miller Announced as CSHP's Pharmacist of the Year Recipient
Share |









Contact: Loriann DeMartini, PharmD, CSHP CEO 
California Society of Health-System Pharmacists 












 Teresa Miller, PharmD, FASHP, FCSHP Announced as CSHP's Pharmacist of the Year

SACRAMENTO, CA. Awarded annually to one member who has made significant and sustained contributions to the pharmacy practice in California, Teresa (Teri) Miller, PharmD, FASHP, FCSHP has been awarded CSHP’s most prestigious award – Pharmacist of the Year Award – for 2017. 


A common theme emerged among those who spoke and wrote letters of recommendation in support of Dr. Miller’s  nomination for this award: her commitment to the advancement of the pharmacy profession.  After graduating from the University of Southern California with her PharmD, Dr. Miller completed an executive residency with the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), served as Director of Educational Services for ASHP, as Vice President of Education, Marketing and as Interim Executive Vice President for the California Pharmacists Association, and ultimately went on to serve as CSHP's Executive Vice President for 14 years (1990 - 2004).  During her tenure at CSHP, she lead the way on many initiatives, including CSHP’s efforts to influence over 400 pieces of legislation,  CSHP’s direct sponsorship of five bills (including collaborative drug therapy), built strong and lasting relationships with other professional organizations, and much more to establish CSHP as the preeminent state health-system pharmacy organization in the United States.


Dr. Miller has continued to embody these characteristics as a volunteer over the past 12 years by serving in a number of CSHP leadership and committee positions, including as a member of CSHP’s Practitioner Recognition Credentialing Committee, Blue Ribbon Committee for a Peer-Reviewed Journal, Committee on Nominations, Board of Directors, Council on Professional Affairs, Editorial Advisory Board, and 50-year Anniversary Committee. 


Dr. Miller currently works as a Senior Pharmaceutical Consultant within the Pharmacy Benefits Division of the California Department of Health Care Services in Sacramento, California, where she strives to establish and optimize medication therapy for Medi-Cal and Medicare beneficiaries. Whether as a team leader, a strategic planner, or a pharmacist; Dr. Miller has always represented excellence and true professionalism in her field.


In recognition of her dedication and continued efforts to advance the profession, Dr. Miller and other award recipients will be honored during CSHP’s Seminar 2017 Awards Ceremony and Reception on Saturday, October 28th, 2017.


Founded in 1962, the California Society of Health-System Pharmacists (CSHP) is a non-profit professional association established to serve the needs of hospital and health-system pharmacists. Representing over 3,500 members who practice clinical pharmacy and specialized medicine, CSHP members share a common mission – to promote wellness, patient safety and the optimal use of medication.



Useful Links
About This Email


California Society of Health-System Pharmacists
1314 H Street, Suite 200
Sacramento, CA 95814
Office: (916) 447-1033
Fax: (916) 447-2396
Email: info@cshp.org
Hours: M-F 8:00am – 5:00pm