Press Release: CSHP Sponsored Bill Passes First Policy Committee with a Unanimous Vote
Share |









Contact: Loriann DeMartini, PharmD, CSHP CEO 
California Society of Health-System Pharmacists 












 CSHP Sponsored Bill Passes First Policy Committee with a Unanimous Vote

SACRAMENTO, CA. Senate Bill 716, authored by Senate Health Committee Chairman Ed Hernandez, was passed by the Senate Business and Professions Committee Monday on an 8-0 unanimous vote. 


The bill, which is sponsored by the California Society of Health-System Pharmacists, would add a pharmacy technician and an additional member of the public to the Board of Pharmacy. 


During testimony to the committee, CSHP President Vicky Ferraresi stated, "SB 716 recognizes the enormous contributions California's 73,000 pharmacy technicians are making to our state's health care delivery system and will improve patient safety through the state." 


Senator Hernandez and his staff have been longtime supporters of the pharmacy profession and stepped up again to push California's law forward. 


After providing compelling testimony on the rapidly expanding role of pharmacy technicians in California, Rachael S. Ortiz, MBA, CPhT said, "The experience of testifying in front of the Senate will stay with me for a long time - it was very exciting and as an American was an extremely proud moment." Rachael went on to say, "I am grateful of how transparent our CEO is and how she kept us in the loop during the whole process, I knew exactly what to expect and how to prepare for this historic moment."


Having cleared the first hurdle in the legislative process, the bill heads to the Senate Committee on Appropriations and will likely be heard on the Senate Floor at the end of May. 




Loriann DeMartini, PharmD

Chief Executive Officer

California Society of Health-System Pharmacists


Useful Links
About This Email


California Society of Health-System Pharmacists
1314 H Street, Suite 200
Sacramento, CA 95814
Office: (916) 447-1033
Fax: (916) 447-2396
Hours: M-F 8:00am – 5:00pm