2019 ASHP Californian Delegate Candidates
Share |

Election Bulletin
2019 ASHP Californian Delegate Candidates

Brain Kawahara, PharmD (CSHP-Inland)

Dr. Kawahara has practiced in several different practice settings including the pharmaceutical industry, pharmacy benefit management, an integrated health care system, community medical centers, retail pharmacy and academia. Currently he is Assistant Director of Experiential Education with Chapman University School of Pharmacy in Irvine, California.  In addition to his career achievements, he has contributed to the profession by educating pharmacists, residents and pharmacy students.  He has been a mentor to pharmacists, residents, student and other individuals.  Finally, Dr. Kawahara has contributed his energies, talents and knowledge to local, state and national pharmacy organizations.  In addition to volunteering to serve on several committees, he has served on the Boards of Director for two ASHP state affiliates (CSHP and ICHP) and the University of Southern California, School of Pharmacy Alumni Association.  All these were achieved with the help and support of his family, friends and mentors. 


Jerika T. Lam, PharmD, AAHIVP, FCSHP (CSHP-Southern California)

Dr. Lam received her Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of California Los Angeles, and her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Southern California (USC) School of Pharmacy. She completed a PGY1 residency at the San Francisco Veterans Affairs Health Care System, and a two-year fellowship at USC School of Pharmacy in HIV pharmacotherapy and translational research. She is credentialed by the American Academy of HIV Medicine. She is currently an Associate Professor at Chapman University School of Pharmacy. Dr. Lam currently practices in a multidisciplinary medical team treating general medicine, HIV and HIV/HCV coinfected patients with the AltaMed Medical Group in Santa Ana. She received the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP)/Walmart Scholars Award as faculty mentor, and was recognized as Fellow of the California Society of Health-System Pharmacists (CSHP). She is currently a Director of the CSHP Foundation of Education and Research, and is actively involved with CSHP, Seminar and CPE planning committees. Dr. Lam is a faculty advisor for the Chapman CSHP/ASHP student chapter. She is appointed as a member of the ASHP Faculty Advisory Panel for 2018-2019. 


Kathleen Besinque, PharmD, M.S.Ed, FCSHP, FASHP, FCPhA (CSHP-Southern California)

Doctor of Pharmacy USC School of Pharmacy, Residency VA/USC Los Angeles, Advanced Practice Pharmacist, FASHP, FCSHP.  Currently: Professor of Pharmacy Practice at Chapman University, previously faculty at Loma Linda University and USC.   CSHP member more than 25 years. Leadership within CSHP/ASHP include:  Chair, CSHP House of Delegates (2002-2006), CSHP Board Member (2002-2006), CSHP Foundation Board Member (2006-2010), President of SCSHP (2003, 2015), Treasurer SCSHP, Chapter Delegate, Seminar Management Teams (2002, 2008, 2011), SCSHP Pharmacist of the Year, ASHP Council on Education and Workforce (2007, 2006). Recipient of CSHP Distinguished Service Award (2011).


Kethen W. So, PharmD, FCSHP (CSHP-Golden Gate)

Assistant Director of Pharmacy, UCSF Medical Center, ASHP: Delegate (2015-Present) Alternate Delegate (2010, 2013); CSHP: Presidential Officer (2015-2017), Government Affairs Advisory Committee (member 1999 – 2004, 2014, chair 2011- 2012), Committee on Goals (member 2004 – 2006, board liaison 2006 – 2009, 2014), Council on Professional Affairs (member 2010), Board of Directors (2006 – 2009), Board Liaison to Editorial Advisory Committee (2007 – 2009), Student Chapters (2007 – 2008), Seminar Management Team (2001); Golden Gate: Presidential Offices (2000 – 2002), PPC-PAC Donation Organizer (2009 – Present), Legislative Advocate (2012 – Present), Delegate to CSHP (2001 – 2002, 2009 – 2013) Continuing Education (chair 2002 – 2009), Membership (chair, 1998 - 2002),Social (chair 1996-1998).


Norman Fox, PharmD, MS  (CSHP-Central Valley)

Dr. Norm is currently the Director of Pharmacy at St. Louise Regional Hospital in Gilroy. He graduated from the University of the Pacific with a Pharm. D. in 1979 and completed a Master of Science degree in microbiology in 2003 from California State University, Chico. He has been practicing pharmacy for over 39 years mostly in the hospital setting as a staff, clinical, and informatics pharmacist.  He has served as Director of Pharmacy in several institutions including St. Elizabeth Community Hospital, Red Bluff, and Emanuel Hospital, Turlock, for over 28 years. Outside of the profession of pharmacy; Dr. Fox is an avid photographer, bicycling enthusiast, artistic roller skating dancer, and grandfather of seven wonderful grandkids.


Robert Stein, PharmD, JD (CSHP-Orange County)

Robert L. Stein, Pharm.D., J.D. is Professor of Practice for Pharmacy Law & Ethics at the Keck Graduate Institute School of Pharmacy, and Bioethics for the Keck Graduate Institute School of Applied Life Sciences. Dr. Stein received his Pharm.D. from the University of Southern California School of Pharmacy, and his J.D. from Western State University College of Law. Previously, he practiced in a variety of clinical, management and consulting roles, most recently in clinical Informatics and Information Technology as applied to healthcare. His professional interests focus on developments at the intersection of pharmacy law, healthcare technology, vendor contracts, and analytics and e-discovery of health records. Dr. Stein is an active member in the American Society for Pharmacy Law (ASPL), American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), California Society of Health-System Pharmacists (CSHP) and is a director of the Orange County chapter of CSHP. He has participated on numerous committees for ASHP and CSHP and is Chair-elect of CSHP’s Government Affairs Advisory Committee for 2018-2019.


Sandra Leigh Bardas, BSP, FCSHP (CSHP-Quatra County)

Sandra received her pharmacist’s degree from Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and did an ASHP residency at Massachusetts General Hospital. The vast majority of her career was at Stanford Healthcare where she was a Satellite Pharmacist, Ambulatory Care Pharmacist, OR Pharmacist, Night Pharmacist, Investigational Drug Pharmacist and Emergency Medicine Pharmacist. She has published journal articles and contributed to textbooks in a wide range of these areas.  In addition, Sandra is a pharmacist member of the federal Disaster Medical Assistance Team (DMAT-CA-6) and the SF Bay Area Unit of CAL-MAT.


Victoria Serrano Adams, PharmD, FASHP, FCSHP (CSHP-Golden Gate)

Retired Director of Pharmacy, UCSF Medical Center (2013 - 2018).  ASHP Commission on Affiliate Relations (2006-2007, 2007-2008), ASHP Council on Pharmacy Practice (2017-2018, 2018-2019 Vice Chair), ASHP Foundation Development Committee (2007); FASHP (2015); CSHP Continuing Pharmacy Education Committee (2013 to 2015), CSHP Board of Directors (2010 – 2013), PPMI Task Force – Board Liaison (2012 – 2013), Continuing Pharmacy Education [CPE] Committee – Board Liaison (2010 – 2013), Committee on Goals – Board Liaison (2011, 2013), CSHP Seminar Management Team 2009 – Residency Showcase Chair, CSHP Practitioner Recognition Program Committee (2006, 2009), FCSHP (2000), CSHP Seminar 1986 – Continuing Education Committee; SDSHP – CSHP Delegate (2000-2002; 2005-2006). 


California Society of Health-System Pharmacists
1314 H Street, Suite 200
Sacramento, CA 95814
Office: (916) 447-1033
Fax: (916) 447-2396
Email: info@cshp.org
Hours: M-F 8:00am – 5:00pm