Distinguished Service Award
Share |

This award shall recognize one individual annually who has made exceptional and sustained contributions to the Society at the regional and state levels. The Distinguished Service Award recipient does not necessarily have to be a pharmacist (e.g., dean of a pharmacy school, legislator, or public official).



2019 Recipient

Barbara K. Uenaka, PharmD, MHA, FCSHP (Press Release)
Past Award Recipients
  • 2018: Danny Kudo, PharmD, FCSHP
  • 2017: Nancy Korman, PharmD
  • 2016: Scott Takahashi, PharmD, FCSHP, FASHP
  • 2015: Kenneth Horowitz, PharmD, FCHSP 
  • 2014: Kelli Haase, PharmD, FCSHP*
  • 2013: Alan Endo, PharmD, FCSHP
  • 2012: Lisa Gunther Lum, PharmD, FASHP, FCSHP
  • 2011: Kathleen Hill Besinque, PharmD, MSEd, FASHP, FCSHP
  • 2010: William P. Yee, PharmD, FASHP, FCSHP
  • 2009: Virginia E. White, PharmD, FCSHP
  • 2008: Mirta Millares, PharmD, FCSHP
  • 2007: Kent Meilich, PharmD, FCSHP
  • 2006: Sam Shimomura, PharmD, FCSHP*
  • 2005: Joel N. Weber, PharmD, FCSHP
  • 2004: Janice Fischer, PharmD
  • 2003: Patricia New, PharmD, FCSHP
  • 2002: Paul LeSage, RPh
  • 2001: Donald Kishi, PharmD, FCSHP
  • 2000: Steve Litsey, PharmD, FCSHP
  • 1999: Sharon Kotabe, PharmD, FCSHP
  • 1998: Michael Cunningham, PharmD, MBA, FCSHP
  • 1997: Rosemarie Brown, RPh, MS, FCSHP
  • 1996: Lawrence Strom II, PharmD, FCSHP, FASHP*
  • 1995: Janet Maiuro, RPh, FCSHP*
  • 1994: Carey C. Cotterell, RPh, FCSHP
  • 1993: David Adler, PharmD, FCSHP
  • 1993: Mary Ann Sullivan, PharmD, FCSHP

* Deceased

  • A CSHP member in good standing.  CSHP members currently holding an elected CSHP position are ineligible.

Distinguished Service Award candidates have demonstrated five (5) years of extraordinary volunteer service at the state or regional level (not necessarily continuous) that has:

  • Contributed to CSHP’s mission and vision; and/or
  • Resulted in successful and/or quality programs, projects, or services for CSHP’s members.

The 2020 deadline for submissions is June 1st.


The most recent CSHP Distinguished Service Award recipient shall be provided complimentary registration, round-trip transportation and lodging as arranged by CSHP for a maximum of three nights during Seminar.


Contact CSHP at MemberServices@CSHP.org or call our office at 916-447-1033.

Application & Submission


California Society of Health-System Pharmacists
1314 H Street, Suite 200
Sacramento, CA 95814
Office: (916) 447-1033
Fax: (916) 447-2396
Email: info@cshp.org
Hours: M-F 8:00am – 5:00pm