Student Leadership in Health-System Practice Award
Share |

The CSHP Student Leadership in Health-System Practice Award recognizes, on an annual basis, one student who has demonstrated exemplary leadership ability.

Pharmacy students in the second through fourth professional years are eligible to apply. The award consists of a plaque and complimentary registration to CSHP’s annual seminar meeting.


2019 Recipient


Jonathan Nguyen Trinh, Touro University California, College of Pharmacy (Press Release)

Past Recipients

2018: Sandy On, University of Southern California, School of Pharmacy
2017: Rachelle Roxas, University of California, San Diego Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
2016: Stephanie Ho, Western University of Health Sciences
2015: No Recipient

2014: Christina Xie, USC School of Pharmacy

2013: Rebecca Kandilian, University of California, San Diego Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
2012: Sarah Prates, Loma Linda University School of Pharmacy
2011: Eunice Rhee, USC School of Pharmacy


The primary objective of the CSHP Student Leadership in Health-System Practice Award is to foster continued personal and professional development through a formal recognition program. A secondary objective is to recognize student leader role models who have an interest in health-system practice and encourage student involvement in professional organizations.


The award program is administered by the CSHP Member Recognition Committee. The award plaque and complimentary registration is provided by CSHP.

  • Applicants must be a full-time pharmacy student enrolled in a professional Doctor of Pharmacy program at an ACPE-accredited college of pharmacy.
  • Applicants must be a CSHP member in good standing.
  • Applicants must have a cumulative grade point average of a least 2.5 on a 4.0 scale (or equivalent grading system).
  • Applicants must have completed at least one academic year in their professional pharmacy program.
  • Students who have received a Student Leadership in Health-System Practice Award in the past are not eligible to apply.

Criteria for the award will be used in the recipient selection process. Applicants will be evaluated based on the following evenly weighed criteria:

  • Health-System Pharmacy Practice Achievement: Evidence of interest, achievement and leadership in health-system pharmacy practice as demonstrated by work experience, professional achievement in hospital/health-system rotations, completion of a research project and/or other special projects or professional accomplishments.
  • Professional Organization Leadership: Evidence of involvement, demonstrated accomplishments, and leadership positions held in student professional organizations, CSHP, student society of health-system pharmacy, and/or community service.
  • Personal Leadership Attributes: Demonstrated by testaments from professionals in letters of recommendation and essay response. Attributes that should be emphasized include motivation and enablement of others to get involved, successful leadership in a team atmosphere, excellence in leading by example, the use of creativity and enthusiasm, the ability to establish and work towards shared goals and the display of leadership through action.

The selected student will be recognized at Seminar’s Awards Ceremony, given an inscribed plaque, recognized on the CSHP Student Leadership in Health-System Practice Award perpetual plaque, and provided complimentary registration to Seminar.


The 2020 deadline for submissions is June 1st.


Contact CSHP at or call our office at 916-447-1033.



California Society of Health-System Pharmacists
1314 H Street, Suite 200
Sacramento, CA 95814
Office: (916) 447-1033
Fax: (916) 447-2396
Hours: M-F 8:00am – 5:00pm